AFCI trips with Vacuum

Status
Not open for further replies.

shortcircuit2

Just put in 2 new Cutler Hammer 15amp AFCI breakers at my sisters and they trip with the vacuum. I have been told by C-H in the past to use a surge trap.

Told my sister to get the surge strip at her computer and we plugged the vacuum into the strip and PRESTO the breaker held...

mgookin

Just put in 2 new Cutler Hammer 15amp AFCI breakers at my sisters and they trip with the vacuum. I have been told by C-H in the past to use a surge trap.

Told my sister to get the surge strip at her computer and we plugged the vacuum into the strip and PRESTO the breaker held...

A clerk in my office blew out her UPS at her computer by plugging a shop vac into it.
Surge strip = yes.
UPS = no. At least on the battery side.
Agree?

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer

I have no personal bad experiences with vacuums and AFCI, but it seems to be the most common appliance people mention when talking about AFCI problems. I think that a demo video for the AFCI tester and remote control made by one breaker manufacturer features a vacuum cleaner. :)

Not quite sure why that is the case, but apparently a lot of blower motors are/were universal motors using commutators rather than induction motors.

ActionDave

Chief Moderator
Staff member
Durango, CO, 10 h 20 min from the winged horses.
Occupation
Licensed Electrician
Not quite sure why that is the case, but apparently a lot of blower motors are/were universal motors using commutators rather than induction motors.
Probably because you can spin 'em whole lots faster.

I have never tripped an AFCI with a universal motor. I have tripped them with power tools that use SCR's and big screen TV's.

kwired

Electron manager
A clerk in my office blew out her UPS at her computer by plugging a shop vac into it.
Surge strip = yes.
UPS = no. At least on the battery side.
Agree?