120/240 panel on 480 system

Status
Not open for further replies.

just the cowboy

Inactive, Email Never Verified
don't dod it

don't dod it

When I was an apprentice I installed a reversing switch in a Simpson meter, it was the wrong switch only 250v. When it failed on the first use it blew the meter in half that was cradled in my arm OUCH:huh:. They do not have the seperation distance as 600v.
Electricity will jump x inchs/volt

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer
Aside from being a blatant violation of everything the NEC stands for, this is just plain stupid, and on several levels.

Voltage ratings in things like panelboards and breakers have to do with two main issues: Clearances between live parts and the mechanical forces that happen as a result of the amount of energy in a fault.

If you use equipment rated for a voltage class lower than the applied voltage, ie 480V (600V class) on a 300V class design, you run a significant risk of flashover by direct line-to-line arcing across the air gap, or creepage across surfaces. Maybe not at first, but over time as dust builds up, it will get worse. For 300V class equipment, the minimum air gap must be 3/4", for 600V class it must be 1". Creepage distance at 300V class is about 1-1/4", for 600V class it's 2". So using equipment with a lower voltage class means there will be less distance in both categories, hence it takes less in terms of adverse conditions such as dust and moisture in the air to cause a flashover.