Yellow colored conductor being used as neutral

Status
Not open for further replies.

MasterTheNEC

CEO and President of Electrical Code Academy, Inc.
Occupation
CEO
As an inspector I have recently been finding home services being installed with a 3 conductor triplex run in the mast with a yellow colored conductor or black with a yellow tracer as a neutral. When asked (usually a home owner) the installer stated they bought the wire at the local big box retailer or a local electrical supply store. No one mentioned to them that the neutral was required to be white in color. Since it is a violation, I need to disapprove the installation and they are then accessed a re-inspection fee. In some cases this also means they must wait days for another inspection and may go without power for that period.
Does anyone know the reasoning behind a manufacturer coloring this conductor yellow instead of white? I feel bad for some of these people as they are trying to save money by doing it themselves and end up paying more. I know I could be a great guy and not charge a fee but my time and gas cost me as well.
I have gone to the retailers and asked the store manager to suggest the person buy the white tape when purchasing the wire but not all of the salespeople are notified or qualified to know.

Firstly - Where you typically would see a "yellow" as the grounded conductor I would not automatically say it is a violation. The NEC does permit re-identification at the time on installation per Section 200.6(B)(4) for those conductors 4 AWG and Larger. Also while this is typically USE-2 conductors, in many cases it is a triple rated conductor which is also RHH and RHW-2 as well for use inside the structure as opposed to the statement in Section 338.12(B)(1), thus the need for the dual or triple ratings and added flame retardant properties.