Yellow colored conductor being used as neutral

Status
Not open for further replies.

mcb979

As an inspector I have recently been finding home services being installed with a 3 conductor triplex run in the mast with a yellow colored conductor or black with a yellow tracer as a neutral. When asked (usually a home owner) the installer stated they bought the wire at the local big box retailer or a local electrical supply store. No one mentioned to them that the neutral was required to be white in color. Since it is a violation, I need to disapprove the installation and they are then accessed a re-inspection fee. In some cases this also means they must wait days for another inspection and may go without power for that period.
Does anyone know the reasoning behind a manufacturer coloring this conductor yellow instead of white? I feel bad for some of these people as they are trying to save money by doing it themselves and end up paying more. I know I could be a great guy and not charge a fee but my time and gas cost me as well.
I have gone to the retailers and asked the store manager to suggest the person buy the white tape when purchasing the wire but not all of the salespeople are notified or qualified to know.

iwire

Staff member
I don't know the answer to your question but may through another wrench in the works.

I suspect the conductor is direct burial cable and likely has no flame resistance listing which would mean it can't be used for an overhead service or indoors in the first place v

ritelec

Interesting. In my minds eye I thought I've seen it with a white stripe.

Googleing along it all seems to come with yellow.

Best guess is the yellow is more visible than white at night ??

ritelec

Just to ad and maybe the strip should still be white. But that wire may be used for overhead or underground service and not meant for sledging in a mast. Just a thought

ritelec

From a manufacturer page. May have something to do with it