PV Disconnect N/G bonded

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fred B

Occupation
Electrician
Question,
I've attached a drawing (I'm not an artist) of an installation of a solar system that doesn't seem right. It has N/G bonded in 2 spots, at the PV disconnect and the main house panel. Plus grounding and grounded conductors running between both panels, plus the EMT bonded. It has a supply side Polaris connection for the pv feeders and the disconnect is fused.
Is this code compliant? What code section allows the bonding of N/G in 2 locations?
NYSERTA claims this is how they want it done but unable to substantiate it with a code reference? What am I missing in the code? (2017)

16289608019746634086490888092867.jpg

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
For all practical purposes, a disconnect for a line side solar tap is a service disconnect and you bond in all service disconnects.
The 2023 code will take a big step in clearing this up as the Correlating Committee has directed such disconnects will be called service disconnects in the 2023 code. They are connected to the utility supply as have all of the hazards as any other disconnect connected to the utility supply.

I am not sure that the 2017 and earlier codes directly addressed this issue, but the 2020 code does in 250.25.

Fred B

Occupation
Electrician
For all practical purposes, a disconnect for a line side solar tap is a service disconnect and you bond in all service disconnects.
The 2023 code will take a big step in clearing this up as the Correlating Committee has directed such disconnects will be called service disconnects in the 2023 code. They are connected to the utility supply as have all of the hazards as any other disconnect connected to the utility supply.

I am not sure that the 2017 and earlier codes directly addressed this issue, but the 2020 code does in 250.25.
What about the parallel N/G between the 2 disconnects

ggunn

PE (Electrical), NABCEP certified
Occupation