Sick and tired of constant code changing year after year

Status
Not open for further replies.

danmark2002

Occupation
Electrician
I have been studying the NEC since year 2005. I think it has come to the point where the code is micro managing every little detail there is.
Sad part of it all is that most electrician never get to use it much themself. Most work has already been designed by an engineer or architect.

Several states has lowered the passing grade from 75% to 70% for journeyman's electrician simply because not enough apprentices can pass the exam.

For electrical contractor in California the passing grade required is only 65% and the test is so easy it is actually a joke ( I took the test myself ).
If you can wire a house you can pass the test. There is no requirement of any formal training. The only thing required is that you can document 4 years of doing electrical work. Most electrical contractor there are less trained and rarely knows more about being an electrician than a second year apprentice does.

In California only 40% can pass the journeyman's test the first time and about 20% the second time
That means that 40% of all the young people starting their training never get to be a licensed electrician.

Right now I am studying for the master electrician test here in Iowa. The test is based on the NEC year 2020.
When I am done taking the test I can throw that code book away and buy the NEC code book for year 2022 since all the work I have to do after that
has to be done to the 2022 NEC.

Finally and last I do not understand why all states does NOT accept an out of state license. In around year 2005 when Iowa first came out with a mandatory state license they only accepted an Iowa license if you wanted to do electrical work in Iowa. Now they have accepted licenses from about 6 neighboring states.