Can't quite figure this out.....?????

Status
Not open for further replies.

220/221

I'm an ace mechanic but I often have trouble with the technical end of electricity.

I've seen this happen a few times as I'm sure we all have.

Let's say that you have two 15 amp branch circuits, both installed on the same leg, and someone inadvertantly ties them together downstream.

Will it take 30 amps to trip this circuit?

I did a panel change last week and discovered the two circuits in question. I found where they were tied together and split them up.

Now, the microwave, which was on one of the 15's, trips the breaker. The micro/vent ended up on a 15A lighting circuit as they often do when someone swaps out the stock vent hood.

I went back and added a micro circuit to correct the problem but was wondering, since it didn't trip before, whould it have taken 30 amps to trip one or both breakers?

StephenSDH

Current prefers the path of least resistance. So one of the breakers would be likely to draw more current then the other, and trip sooner. After the first one trips the second breaker would have the full load and trip shortly after. If the lengths and gauge is the same for both, then it would be simular to 30A over current protection.

You did a good thing by separating the circuits, because the breakers are not protecting the wire or devices. Sounds like you found out why it was done "inadvertently".

RICK NAPIER

It would take 30 amps to blow the circuit if your load was in the exact resistance center of the circuit. Since current travels proportionally to resistance it will take more than 15 amps to blow the circuit but less than 30 amps. Or to put it another way the amperage draw on each circuit won't be equal but will draw more than 15 amps total at the load.

I typed to slow

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor