Drum cage at church

Mike410is

Occupation
Residential electrician
Hello everyone,
My church is installing a portable drum cage on the stage. It needs a quad receptacle inside the cage for some fans and electronics. 5ish amp load. I'm checking to see if anyone on here has ever done something like this. I'm thinking about installing a 20 amp inlet on the outside of the cage and wiring the receptacles inside the cage off of that. Then they can plug an extension cord in and power the cage. The cage is wood frame with wood paneling on the exterior and drywall on the interior. Any advice would be appreciated as I have no experience in this. Thanks

rambojoe

Occupation
Wireman
Keep it simple? After all its just drums...
You could see if the pastor or music director may forsee a need for audio/data or more power..
Which they will most certainly need...

Mike410is

Occupation
Residential electrician
Keep it simple? After all its just drums...
You could see if the pastor or music director may forsee a need for audio/data or more power..
Which they will most certainly need...
I'm going to talk with them on Wednesday, but I'm pretty sure they have someone doing the audio/data stuff already. Do you see any problem with doing an inlet on the exterior?

PaulMmn

Occupation
EIT - Engineer in Training, Lafayette College
Is the drum cage 'mobile?' Will it be moved to different places on the stage from time to time? Would preclude a floor box.

TwoBlocked

Occupation
Industrial Electrician
A 20amp straight blade inlet. Similar to something used for a generator hookup
It's called a "Male Receptacle." I've installed them on things like pianos with a humidity control system. Electrically the same as installing a cord and plug. Since it is installed on the appliance side, I don't think it is covered by the NEC.

brantmacga

Señor Member
Occupation
Former Child