Help with Proposal

Status
Not open for further replies.

frank_n

I apologize in advance if this long-winded; I want to explain my situation. I am bidding on wiring a second floor addition and a 200-amp service upgrade. Most of my electrical experience is commercial/industrial. I do have a little residential experience. In 2002, I got out of the electrical business full-time and went into teaching. Last summer, I started my own contracting business that I operate part-time during the school year and during the summer. So far, I have been take the usual smaller jobs that electricians take when starting a new business (ceiling fans, recessed lights, etc.) while hoping to get bigger jobs. Finally a GC contacted me and gave me the opportunity to bid on this addition. Unfortunately while I was a contractor, I didn?t do many residential products such as this, and I never did any of the bidding. I also understand that commercial electricians are much slower at residential electricians at residential work. I must work hard to overcome this.

Let me explain the job I am bidding on.

It is a 900 sq. ft. second level with 2 bedrooms and a full bath. Both bedrooms have large walk in closets with 4 recessed lights and 1 receptacle. Each bedroom has a ceiling fan (to be purchased by the GC) and 9 receptacles. The ceiling fan is going to be controlled by toggle switches (ceiling fan switches/dimmers will be an upgrade.) The bathroom will have a fan, vanity light, and a recessed light over the shower and another over the Jacuzzi tub. Of course there needs to be a circuit for the Jacuzzi tub. Finally, there is a smoke detector circuit that calls for three in the new area (2 in bedrooms + 1 in hall) and three in the existing area. The hallway will have a 3-way, a 4-way and another 3-way that has to be snaked to the existing area. I believe this will take 17 hours at $65 for $1105. Materials will cost $521 (10% markup) for a total of $1626.