Metal siding and government jobs

Zeusmatt67

Occupation
Electrical contractor
I’ve been following Mike Holt for a long time but just recently signed up for the forums so this is my first post. I’m a 30 year electrical contractor and I’m fairly well versed in code but I can’t find a definitive answer to the scenario I’m about to describe. This is also the same scenario I’m now running into non a second job.

I just recently finished a government building for a medical clinic where one of the last requirements was to measure ground resistances to all surfaces within a 72 inch radius of the main service. During the course of construction the general contractor installed the building exterior finish before the main service was installed. The exterior finish consisted of metal lap siding. The siding is rectangular sheets of metal with folded edges that hold it 1/4 or more off the building framing or moisture barrier, the sheets lap over each other and cover the entire structure all the way up to and over the roof parapet walls. The siding is also in contact with the metal staircase running from the first floor to the roof.
I had asked the general contractor to have the metal siding behind the switchgear left out and to either stucco or use wood siding where my gear was going to be attached to the wall. The general contractor or refused to comply and told me to just bolt my gear to the siding which I did. The inspectors for the facility were “in house” federally hired inspectors and did not see a problem with the installation although they did say they were only looking at items the feeeral agency was concerned with.