Modifing ceiling grid to install light fixtures

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ibbreezn

I am a Master Electrician with 20+ years in the trade, 2 weeks ago I was terminated by my employer becaused I refused to cut 3/8" off the mains and t-bars of a concealed grid suspended ceiling to facilatate the installation of 28 2x4 fluorescent light fixtures. We did not have any type of approval from the ceiling grid manufacturer. My former boss wanted me to use tin snips and duck bill pliers to accomplish this.
#1. I felt that this was truly "scab Work"
#2. I had serious concerns about modifying the grid integrity.
#3. NEC Art. 110.12
#4. U.L rating of the grid.
#5. No prior approval from the grid manufacturer.
The reason that the new fixtures didn't fit was the fact that the grid was considerable wider than standard grid.
I would appreciate any input regarding this.
Thanks, Rick

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
Sorry to hear about your job loss. Basically you decided to take a stand and now you're unemployed. It's a tough call. Many guys would just do what they're told since it's not their license that they're working under. Tough call either way.

Welcome to the forum. :)

mcclary's electrical

I am a Master Electrician with 20+ years in the trade, 2 weeks ago I was terminated by my employer becaused I refused to cut 3/8" off the mains and t-bars of a concealed grid suspended ceiling to facilatate the installation of 28 2x4 fluorescent light fixtures. We did not have any type of approval from the ceiling grid manufacturer. My former boss wanted me to use tin snips and duck bill pliers to accomplish this.
#3. NEC Art. 110.12
The reason that the new fixtures didn't fit was the fact that the grid was considerable wider than standard grid.
Thanks, Rick

You get paid by the hour right?

The things you listed cannot be pinned on you.
Call your boss and apologize.