Re-termination of AL SER cable ends after removal for testing

desk sparky

Occupation
Electrician project manager
Hello,

I'm a project manager for an electrical construction company, used to work in the field but now I'm in the office. At one of our new build dorm projects at a university we have apartment units with their own Square D homeline load centers. We have already installed the AL SER feeder cable onto the main lugs in all of the load centers. Now the AHJ is requiring us to do testing of the buss and feeders and is asking us to supply documentation from the cable manufacturers on how to properly re-terminate these feeders onto the lugs after testing. His concern is that with the brittle nature of AL conductors there might be specific instructions on re-terminating the prepared ends that have already been torqued down. I have searched the Southwire database, have found no reference for re-using the prepared cable ends. I've also searched for guidance on the main lug end for re-termination guidance but have come up empty. Our field foreman cannot guarantee enough extra length on these terminated cables to just cut the end off and re-do the termination. Any advice or guidance on where to look for this type of instruction or documentation is much appreciated, thank you!

Amy

Hello,