Taped Wire Nuts

Status
Not open for further replies.

Saturn_Europa

Occupation
Electrician Limited License NC
Who tapes up their wire nuts after making a termination in a box?

My Dad taught me that way growing up, but I gave it up five years ago. I still see a ton of guys do it. Is it a belt and suspenders thing? Superstition?

mopowr steve

Occupation
Electrical contractor
I don't believe that the wirenut manufacturers list there product to be taped but I have seen instructions to some light fixtures that recommend it.

Normally I don't tape.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Well I am not an actual electrician so I don't actually use much in the way of wire nuts, but I typically don't allow wire nuts to be used because I've seen enough of them come loose that I don't trust them where there is vibration. I might be inclined to allow them if they were taped or otherwise secured in place so they are less likely to come loose.

I forget who makes it but there's at least one company that make what looks like a wire nut but is actually a crimp on connector. I don't have an issue with those kinds of connectors.

user 100

Who tapes up their wire nuts after making a termination in a box?

My Dad taught me that way growing up, but I gave it up five years ago. I still see a ton of guys do it. Is it a belt and suspenders thing? Superstition?

I think it's just a stubborn habit that got started way back then by the old guys that didn't trust the then new fangled doohickeys. Others have claimed its good to tape them in wet areas to keep out moisture ( actually, taping often has the opposite effect.:happyno:)

There really is no good reason to tape a wirenut- if someone tapes one b/c they are worried about the connector becoming loose, the product was applied incorrectly to begin with, or a different connector should have been used.