Very unusual accessibility situation

nietzj

Occupation
Electrician
The contractor installed a beefed-up ceiling grid to support heavy ceiling tiles. Now the hinged covers to the 2x4 LED light luminaires are not able to be opened. The heavy grid is just wide enough to cover the clips holding the cover. Since the NEC calls a luminare equipment it falls under the definition : Accessible (as applied to equipment) That definition only states "Capable of being reached for operation, renewal, and inspection." In 40 years of being an electrician I have never seen this situation. My question is would physically removing a luminaire to work on it be considered "Capable" I don't think the authors of this definition considered this dilemma. On a side note the owner is willing to accept this knowing it will be more expensive to service the lights.
Note; either replacing the grid or replacing the lights is going to cost $60-$80k, it's a large lab room which is basically completed.

Last edited:

nietzj

Occupation
Electrician
Funny, I think this is going to come down to the definition of Capable. One other detail is the manufactures specs for the lights tell you which grids are acceptable and the current ceiling grid does not comply.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
If it can be removed then it's capable of being worked on. The grid type is a different issue.

NTesla76

Occupation
Electrics
Are the 2x4 fixtures clipped to the grid with the attached clips? Or are you using screws to hold the fixture to the grid?

nietzj

Occupation
Electrician
The fixtures come with a tab you can fold over the grid plus they are independently supported with wires.
Are the 2x4 fixtures clipped to the grid with the attached clips? Or are you using screws to hold the fixture to the grid?

nietzj

Occupation
Electrician