Wrong color wire on different systems.

Status
Not open for further replies.

My boss mkaes me land odd color wires in a panel. I think is a big mastake 208/120 should only be black, red ,blue and laned on the proper phase. Pink,purple should be left for switch legs and maybe control wire.We have 480 and 208 in this commecial building and i believe it may cause problems for others in the future .Lights are 480 in which he pulls red and black ,recepticles are 120 and he pulls brown ,yellow,ect.He says #12 IN AMPS is the same in any color so it dont matter, well it does to me and yes THHN #12 red is the same as THHN#12 brown it just needs to be on the right system.So what do you all think of this and what problems do you think this could cause for the future?I know if i was a inspector and seen 20 pinks in a panel i would have a lot of questions concerning the rest of the work.I also told him atleast tag the lights as being 480 so people won't think it's 208.It just makes me mad because everything else is perfect ,tight,grounded ,clean,up to code, except this junk.

jumper

Show your boss 210.5.

(C) Identification of Ungrounded Conductors. Ungrounded
conductors shall be identified in accordance with
210.5(C)(1), (2), and (3).
(1) Application. Where the premises wiring system has
branch circuits supplied from more than one nominal voltage
system, each ungrounded conductor of a branch circuit
shall be identified by phase or line and system at all termination,
connection, and splice points.
(2) Means of Identification. The means of identification
shall be permitted to be by separate color coding, marking
tape, tagging, or other approved means.
(3) Posting of Identification Means. The method utilized
for conductors originating within each branch-circuit panelboard
or similar branch-circuit distribution equipment
shall be documented in a manner that is readily available or
shall be permanently posted at each branch-circuit panelboard