Demand factor for multiple car charging station

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
As far as I know there isn't a demand factor stated in art. 220-- Since they are all likely to be on at the same time I wouldn't expect a demand factor either.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
I don't disagree but can't help but think of the multiple charging stations we have in this area with underbrush now growing in some of the charging spots. Another year, the only way all spots will be in use is if someone brings a chain-saw.

JFletcher

I have no experience nor NEC knowledge of your setup however, as a practical means:

~~ some a hole will double park his minivan or sports car, relegating two of those spaces into paperweights.

~~ three people will illegally park there. They do not have electric vehicles.

~~ with the 5 of 10 of remaining spaces, you might actually get 5 electric vehicles that need to charge all at the same time.

SSDriver

Occupation
Electrician
Around here there are a few places that have about 5-10 car charges all going at once and people waiting to park in those spots. I personally would size it assuming at some point they will be running at the same time and for a long time. What type of facility is it? That can make a big difference. Some of the schools here have 10 or so charging stations, all of the teachers show up at the same time in the morning and plug their cars in. So until lunch or the cars are charged, they are all going at the same time.

retirede

I have no experience nor NEC knowledge of your setup however, as a practical means:

~~ some a hole will double park his minivan or sports car, relegating two of those spaces into paperweights.

~~ three people will illegally park there. They do not have electric vehicles.