Panasonic and AFCI issue??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ponchik

Occupation
Electronologist
I am having trouble with Panasonic whipser fan and AFCI breaker. As soon as I plug in the fan portion of the exhaust fan (with the switch off position) the AFCI trips.
One of the fans runs OK one of the fans runs for 10-15 seconds then the AFCI trips.

I have tested my wiring all OK.
I have changed AFCI breakers still trips.
4 fans along with other lighting are on four different breakers.

Panasonic technical said the bath fans were never designed to be on AFCI breaker. Anyone heard this BS before? Is it BS?

Any solutions to this? Anyone else having this trouble?

I have done many Panasonic fans on AFCI without any issue. It is my first time.

Thanks.

al hildenbrand

Occupation
Electrical Contractor, Electrical Consultant, Electrical Engineer
Interesting, Edward. I too have not had any trouble (that I am aware of) with AFCIs tripping from the Panasonic whisper line.

I find it hard to believe that the tech person's comment is a hard fact. Nothing in their literature restricts the fan to being located in areas of a dwelling that do not require AFCI protection. . .

Out of curiosity, does either of the two fans have any of the various modules added? You know, multi speed, time delay, motion sensing, humidity sensing, etc.

Ponchik

Occupation
Electronologist
Interesting, Edward. I too have not had any trouble (that I am aware of) with AFCIs tripping from the Panasonic whisper line.

I find it hard to believe that the tech person's comment is a hard fact. Nothing in their literature restricts the fan to being located in areas of a dwelling that do not require AFCI protection. . .

Out of curiosity, does either of the two fans have any of the various modules added? You know, multi speed, time delay, motion sensing, humidity sensing, etc.

Yes it does.
could that be the problem?

al hildenbrand

Occupation