Thoughts on GFCI breakers instead of GFCI receptacles

Status
Not open for further replies.

marmathsen

Occupation
Electrical Contractor
What are your thoughts on using GFCI breakers instead of GFCI receptacles?

For reference I'm a residential electrician. For years we installed GFCI receptacles where required, but as the requirements for AFCI protection got expanded we started using dual function AFCI/GFCI circuit breakers where both were required for a given receptacle. We soon after decided that locating ALL of our AFCI and GFCI protection (including GFCI only breakers) inside the panel made for easier troubleshooting for the homeowner and simplified installation, so no more GFCI receptacles. We've been doing this now for a few years, with very few exceptions where we feel a GFCI receptacle is more logical.

My question is if anyone has an opinion on this logic. Are there concerns of the GFCI not functioning as quickly or accurately when it's 100'+ away from the receptacle? Obviously if you're a landscaper outside and you trip a GFCI with your tools and no one's home to reset the breaker, that'd be annoying (we've discussed this a lot in my company).

Just curious. Thanks.

Rob

peter d

It's been the norm for many of us now, myself included.

Now, that being said, I am actually favoring going back to the "old way" and using an AFCI breaker and GFCI receptacle. Despite the "on board diagnostics" all the breakers now carry, it can actually be a real pain to diagnose what is causing them to trip. Some of them don't have "idiot lights" on them which makes it a pain.

To take it a step further, if you're using GE products, it makes even more sense to keep the functions separate as the GE AFCI (and possibly one other ;) ) no longer incorporates GFPE and is therefore not subject to the nuisance tripping that is common with others.

Adamjamma