mc cable in air void with zip ties

Status
Not open for further replies.

ericsherman37

So I'm helping wire a new movie theatre. The exterior walls are cinder block, the interior are metal studs. There is a small (like 1") void between them. My journeyman had me run some exit light circuits around the whole perimeter. I'm not sure I approve of the method he had me use to install it (I'm going to keep my mouth shut cause I'm an apprentice, but I'd like to see if anyone has any ideas or opinions on this).

1) He had me run the MC cable in the void between the metal stud wall and the cinder block wall. Is this okay?

2) He gave me a bag of zip ties to hang the MC from the pre-punched holes in the studs. Can't get a drill back there to attach regular MC straps. Are zip ties okay for supporting MC?

mccinderblock.gif

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
Cable ties are fine:

330.30 Securing and Supporting.
(A) General. Type MC cable shall be supported and secured by staples, cable ties, straps, hangers, or similar fittings or other approved means designed and installed so as not to damage the cable.
(B) Securing. Unless otherwise provided, cables shall be secured at intervals not exceeding 1.8 m (6 ft). Cables containing four or fewer conductors sized no larger than 10 AWG shall be secured within 300 mm (12 in.) of every box, cabinet, fitting, or other cable termination.

480sparky

That is a very common method, I am not sure what your concerns are.

It sounds like the same method I use for NM when finishing a basement. Instead of drilling holes in all the studs, I just run the NM in the gap between the framing and the foundation.

There are some who say my method of support the cable is not listed, therefore would not pass inspections.

DSC_1892a.jpg

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician