Iraq electrical systems

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys, i'm obviously new to the forums. My background is industrial commercial electric, and i do hold a valid US Master Licence. I have been tasked to travel to Iraq in the form of an Electrical Inspector to oversee contractors at various locations. My problem is the wire is sized in metric and a few issues with breakers. There seems to be a lot of counterfit wire, and circuit breakers being used. Can anyone in here point me in the right direction for dealing with these and other issues related to the European systems?

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
Attached herewith is a table showing comparison between AWG and metric guag
There is one thing you need to know about that table. In the US, we make the wire sizes that are shown in the left colimn (i.e., #14, #12, etc.). However, in countries that use the metric system, they do not make wires that equal the cross sectional areas that the table shows. For example, a #14 equals 4110 square mm. But the "standard size" wire is 4000. You have to ask for a 4000, as you won't be able to find a 4110.

What you really need is a table of standard size metric wires, with a conversion to the nearest size AWG wires. I have one at work, but I am not at work today.

I would love to see that chart. If you can send it when you get back to work i would greatly appreciate it. Or is there a good site I can download it or print a copy off?

Thanks everyone for your input..

Besoeker

For example, a #14 equals 4110 square mm. But the "standard size" wire is 4000. You have to ask for a 4000, as you won't be able to find a 4110.
Well 4110mm^2 or even 4000mm^2 would be a mighty conductor. It's close to 3 inches diameter without allowing for spacing between the strands or for any insulation....