Water flow 120 VAC bell

Status
Not open for further replies.

epsilon

I installed some water flow 120 VAC bell in Fire Alarm Sytem with convential FACP,and always I had used the AC power to feed the bells from a near 120AC outlet.Senior technicians in my company told me that everything is as per code, but I think that the AC power must be supervised by FACP.I'm new in Fire Alarm (around 1 1/2 years) and in the Company too.There's some specifications in NFPA 72 about water flow 120 VAC bells.

Thanks

nhfire77

I installed some water flow 120 VAC bell in Fire Alarm Sytem with convential FACP,and always I had used the AC power to feed the bells from a near 120AC outlet.Senior technicians in my company told me that everything is as per code, but I think that the AC power must be supervised by FACP.I'm new in Fire Alarm (around 1 1/2 years) and in the Company too.There's some specifications in NFPA 72 about water flow 120 VAC bells.

Thanks

Typically the 120AC is the same circuit as a FACP/NAC panel so that when they lose power they report the trouble, no need for redundant supervision

Also, Fire alarm circuits are to be dedicated with a labeled locked breaker (NFPA 72 – Section 4.4.1.4.2.2), So tapping an outlet is a violation because it shares power, and I'm sure there isn't a lock on the CB

Last edited:

nhfire77

Personally I would have a dedicated CB for it. Label it in big red letters FIRE ALARM and put a lock on it. Then 99% of the time its left alone by those not in the know.

Technically the 120 VAC circuit is supposed to be supplied from a panel that supervises the wiring to the bell, but that is pretty much never done with 120v bells. If you wanted an alternative, a 120VAC relay at the bell tied to a trouble zone on the panel would supervise it. But it would be a huge pain the butt, getting trouble calls for power outages.