Am I off base with this situation

Status
Not open for further replies.

sparky 134

I was hired to perform a tenant buildout by a GC. The space is being built for a VA office. The GC was hired by the landlord.

I am a non-union contractor. This is not a union vs. non-union discussion by any means. The local BA stopped by and threatened to picket the project and then sent the GC a fax informing them that prevailing wage will be paid on this project by the GC and all subcontractors. The GC called me to ask if I had received the same fax.

GC says, "It's not that big of a hassle. You just need to provide certified payroll for your employees."

I said, "I didn't know this was a prevailing wage project."

GC says (with a chuckle), "How could you not know ? The tenant is the VA Administration."

I said, "No one informed me during the bidding process that this was prevailing wage."

So now I'm at odds with the GC over paying prevailing wage. Had I known I would have used a higher labor rate.

hurk27

I was hired to perform a tenant buildout by a GC. The space is being built for a VA office. The GC was hired by the landlord.
I am a non-union contractor. This is not a union vs. non-union discussion by any means. The local BA stopped by and threatened to picket the project and then sent the GC a fax informing them that prevailing wage will be paid on this project by the GC and all subcontractors. The GC called me to ask if I had received the same fax.

GC says, "It's not that big of a hassle. You just need to provide certified payroll for your employees."

I said, "I didn't know this was a prevailing wage project."

GC says (with a chuckle), "How could you not know ? The tenant is the VA Administration."

I said, "No one informed me during the bidding process that this was prevailing wage."

So now I'm at odds with the GC over paying prevailing wage. Had I known I would have used a higher labor rate.