Testing a Solid State Relay????

Status
Not open for further replies.

ibew441dc

I am far from an electronics expert.... actually as of late I realize I am very much a novice in this arena, but have stepped into another area of our industry that is different than my norm (400hertz aircraft ground power, DC motors/drives, ect.).

How does one test a solid state relay? To be honest, in my entire career I have never had to do this, in the past if I had to change a ssr it was because it was obviously fried.

mcclary's electrical

I am far from an electronics expert.... actually as of late I realize I am very much a novice in this arena, but have stepped into another area of our industry that is different than my norm (400hertz aircraft ground power, DC motors/drives, ect.).

How does one test a solid state relay? To be honest, in my entire career I have never had to do this, in the past if I had to change a ssr it was because it was obviously fried.

Know the control voltage of the relay, engergize with "said" voltage to the coil and it should change states. Verify each set of contacts with continuity check to make sure each contact either opens or closes.

ibew441dc

Know the control voltage of the relay, engergize with "said" voltage to the coil and it should change states. Verify each set of contacts with continuity check to make sure each contact either opens or closes.

Im pretty sure there is no coil???? but I follow what you mean. Is there a way to test it de-energized?

Depends on the type. Single MOSFET SSR's are for DC loads and dual MOSFET SSR's are for AC circuits as the MOSFET's are connected (internally) back to back to provide a reverse bias in both directions. (basic diode operation)

Using a meter or continuity tester does not work on dual MOSFET due to the meters DC nature. The easiest way is to just hook them up.