Neutral issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

jwnagy

I went on a service call a few days ago in response to a homeowner reporting dimming lights, appliances shutting down, and surge protectors burning up.

What I found is perhaps the most extreme case of failed service conductors I have seen in the 30years I have been an electrician, due to shoddy workmanship done in 1983 (the date of the final inspection per the inspection sticker).

When I arrived, I found things exactly as described to me. These are townhomes that are fed from the street to a 1200 amp service cabinet, with a 6-meter stack bussed on each side. The main disconnect (150 amp, Cutler Hammer type CC) for the dwellings are next to the meters, so the feeders to each individual home are sub-feeders. The wires were contained in a 2" PVC conduit at both the panel and the meter stack.

I noted that as the refrigerator cycled on and off, the lights on other circuits on the first floor would dim, while others got very bright, with a corresponding drop in voltage in a number of receptacles at the same time. Unplugging the clothes dryer resulted in the lights going out in the kitchen and the small appliance circuit for the refrigerator going out as well.

The first thing I checked was to make sure then right size wire was used and in the right combination. The neutral bar was isolated from the ground, fed with the correct size insulated wire, and there were no jumpers from neutral to ground. A #4 wire was run from the main water service to the ground bar and a separate, insulated ground conductor was run from the main service to the sub-panel.

My "wiggy showed somthing was a-miss when I attempted to check voltage avialiblity. I changed over to my Fuke 75 and found these readings:

"A" Phase to Neutral - 187 volts
"B" Phase to neutral - 61 volts

I shut down all of the branch circuit breakers and then turned them back on one breaker at a time while monitoring the voltages: