why is it called 1 phase when its 110/220v. but 3 phase when its 3 "hots"

Status
Not open for further replies.
The dots do that by indicating winding starts.

Oh well, when I studied basic ac circuits, we had a lot of problems to solve using instantaneous ac voltages and currents and the polarities were always used in these problems. It is certainly not inappropriate to indicate polarities in an ac circuit and has been done for decades. The dots represent the phase relationship of the windings, but a student may need more information to understand precisely how the voltages in the separate conductors interact. For instance, he may not know that the center tap would be negative with respect to one end conductor, while at the same time it would be positive with respect ot the other end. Don

K8MHZ

Michigan. It's a beautiful peninsula, I've looked
Occupation
Electrician
The simple answer is:
The reference to "phase" is short for "phase angle differrence".
Describing the 60 Cycle/Second waveform timing of the voltage or current between sources. In a single loop with 2 wires the waveform phase angle difference will always be the same. Add more wires to the loop, a phase angle difference is possible.
With 4 wires it is possible to have a 2 phase system.
The RMS Voltage between wires is dependent on the phase angle difference between them and how they are connected.

Actually, there can be no simple answer in writing.

To really 'get the picture' of the difference between single and poly phase sources, a pattern on an oscilloscope helps like nothing else. You can actually see that both the 120 and 240 volt sources are in phase, just of different amplitudes. You can also see the different wave forms of poly phase sources and which wave is produced by which pair of conductors and why one phase needs two conductors and both two and three phase need three conductors.

I saw a video of this during my apprenticeship. I wish I could remember the title.

mivey