Grounding Rotating Parts

Status
Not open for further replies.

human7

Could someone direct me where to find information on grounding rotating part in the NEC? Our customer would like us to ground a large winch drum through a slip ring..not sure if this is Kosher or what the rules are.

human7

Interesting. I'm no electrician, but wouldn't the drum already be grounded through the motor?

No, the motor drives a gears on a pedestal. The drum has a bullgear on one edge that meshes with the gears on the pedestal. Power passes through a slip ring and onto the drum.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
why does the drum need to be grounded? other than a customer's wish?

as a practical matter, these things are often effectively bonded together, even if they do rotate.

one would think that a listed slip ring that can be used for powering something could also be used for grounding it. and in fact this is pretty common. i can't see why it would be prohibited to use just the grounding connection.

Last edited:

human7

The drum should be grounded because there are 500 VDC connections made on the drum from the slip ring to the cable the drum is reeling.

I don't think I should be relying on the grease covered interfaces between the grears or bearings to provide a safety ground.

Where have you seen slip rings used as ground connections?

SG-1

My 8 KW generator uses one slip ring for the grounded connection.

Which side of the DC is grounded ? Positive or Negative ?

One end of the wire is going to be connected to the drum & the other end connected to what ?

ZCBee

The drum should be grounded because there are 500 VDC connections made on the drum from the slip ring to the cable the drum is reeling.

I don't think I should be relying on the grease covered interfaces between the grears or bearings to provide a safety ground.

Where have you seen slip rings used as ground connections?

http://www.insul-.com/productline.cfm?Ids=473,469,471,470,468,472,475,467