Splicing in junction boxes

Status
Not open for further replies.

dlarkin

Hi. In the spirit of full disclosure, I will say that I am not an electrical engineer or electrician. I am a civil engineer who does a fair amount of electrical design that is then checked by a third party EE.

That being said, I have had a disagreement recently with the EE and I wanted to see what people here might think.

The EE says that you cannot splice circuits in a junction box - the case in point being a branch circuit running from a breaker in a panel to a junction box and then spliced to conductors running to two separate loads (in this case lights on opposite sides of a room). My understanding was that as long as the JBox had adequate volume and is accessible that this would be ok, but he maintains that this is not allowed because one of the splices is a feeder which would require separate OCP.

He references 240.21 which states that "Conductors supplied under the provisions of 240.21(A) through (H) shall not supply another conductor except through an overcurrent protective device..." This certainly seems to support his case, but I can't see what would be the difference between this case and splicing two lights off of one lights wiring enclosure, as I think is often done in office overhead lighting.

Anyway, hopefully that's clear. I have searched and searched the code an other online resources, but I can't get this 100% clear in my head.

Thanks for any help!

iwire

Staff member
As long as all the conductors are rated at least as high as the over current protection nothing in 240.21 applies.

The EE has to read the definition of tap conductors in 240.2