Another large contractor closes it's doors

Status
Not open for further replies.

hillbilly1

Occupation
Owner/electrical contractor
Just heard today Mcbride Electric closed it's doors. It was one of our larger competitors, and caught us by surprise. Don't know if it was the economy, new regulations just signed, or just something else.

macmikeman

Ten years ago it was all about consolidation and buy outs for growth. In ECM they preached either grow big or die. That was then. Macmike alway say "small boat go up tiny creek better than big ship" Chop chop....

michaeljmeuse

It is true. My boss told me that they called everyone in, nationwide, and told them they are closing shop. This seems there is an internal problem. Not sure though. There are several branches around the country and i would assume the economy would not shut all of them down in one day, but im not an expert on the economy.

Javi

McBride was bought out 2 years ago(2007) by Linx Group. I doubt the employees were aware of this move. The president, David DiLreto was under contract for 2 years and then "retired" back in July. from then on it went down hill. McBride has been closing shops around the country for several years now and only concentrating on big markets. It has has lost it's core value from the days of the founding father, Lloyd Mcbride, and has focus on returning money to investors. A public held company in the electrical contracting business has never been successful according to past history. It is sad and I feel for all the employees and especially those who have made a home there. I di dwork there and they closed the shop in Tulsa, OK years ago.

LawnGuyLandSparky