A question about resumes

Status
Not open for further replies.

sw_ross

I am working on updating my resume and have a question that might be a matter of opinion. I would specifically like to hear responses from EC's that have experience with hiring, but am also interested in hearing from anybody that has experience with resumes.

I have about five years experience in the electrical field. I went through my four year apprenticeship, and have had my license for about one year. I did well in all my apprenticeship classes. I'm forty-five, so I kind of got a late start in this line of work, but I really enjoy what I do.

I have a varied background previous to getting involved in the electrical field. Some of it construction related, some of it not. I'm working on my resume since work has slowed up a little.

I'm going to start showing it to some other EC's in my area. The question I have is whether to include all my background that is non-related to the electrical field. I have no problem filling up two pages just promoting my electrical background and experiences. I feel that to include all my background would either make my resume fairly long and drawn out, or I would have to cut into what I've described in my electrical experience section.

Everything I've read and learned over the years about resumes are that they are mainly a brief advertising tool to get a prospective employer interested in you and wanting to learn more about you and your abilities (thereby asking you to interview).

I had one Master Electrician I know in my area tell me I need to include all my previous experiences, especially non-electrical related. It lets a prospective employer know about the evolution of all your knowledge, skills, and abilities - regardless of how long it makes your resume. This seems a little different than everything I've learned elsewhere.