Calling 811

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmellc

Occupation
Facility Maintenance Tech. Licensed Electrician
Haven't called yet for a ground rod and haven't had a problem. But I guess I should start, seeing that some of our associates have had accidents. It is free, after all. If others have hit something, I'm bound to. I'm not good at beating odds.

macmikeman

I wonder what the true mathematical odds of a 5/8" rod hitting an underground line on a private resi lot, if you are installing the first rod on the property (not an existing dwelling) like say for a brand new house, which is about 90 per cent of the time I drive rods anyway. Certainly the hit odds would go up if you are replacing a service and there is existing underground utilities and water pipes in the area. And of course they go way up if it is a commercial area like a mall. I never hit anything other than rock yet, but I would not rule out the possibility by any means so like I said earlier, I guess its a good idea to make that call.

480sparky

On a spankin' new house, I'd say the odds are astronomical, given the fact that you can still see the utility trenches. :D

(Unless you get some gung-ho noodle-noggin helper who thinks he'll ram it into all that nice, soft, freshly-dug earth............:mad:)

satcom

On a spankin' new house, I'd say the odds are astronomical, given the fact that you can still see the utility trenches. :D

(Unless you get some gung-ho noodle-noggin helper who thinks he'll ram it into all that nice, soft, freshly-dug earth............:mad:)

The only problem is, the law in many states require mark out for all dig and post or rod work, the law does not say if you think the odds are astronomical, you don't have to notify.

We see local news stories, all the time, where gas lines are hit, and many of them are on new construction sites.