Extreme Voltage Drop

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was an electrician helper in Florida for 3 years until I got laid off in 2008. Haven't been able to find a job in this field for over two years now due to the poor economy. Anyway, I have a serious problem in the trailer park I live in. My voltage averages about 100 from 11 PM to 9 AM. This is when most of my appliances run, just barely. During the day voltage drops to 90. A/C, microwave and fluorescent lights won't function properly. My computer constantly crashes and reboots. The TV picture frequently shrinks to a small square and the sound fades out. I'm constantly replacing ballasts, computer monitors, a refrigerator, etc. I called Progress Energy, they say the power at the meter reads 240 volts.

The entire trailer park, about 100 trailers, runs off a single meter. Our electric is included in the rent. Ten trailers on my block run off one panel with a 150 amp main breaker. Each trailer is wired for 120 volts with a 30 amp breaker each. They have 5 trailers on each leg, so nobody has 240 volts. Inside the breaker box on each trailer they ran a jumper wire connecting the two legs together since 240 volts was not available. One leg coming in to feed two legs in the trailer. Then the feed for the panel feeding these ten trailers comes from another panel that feeds 10 trailers and has a 200 amp main breaker. It has a 100 amp double pole breaker that feeds the cables running to our panel.

So, this daisy chain goes through the whole park running from panel to panel. Progress Energy says their responsibility ends at the meter. The city says the code doesn't apply because we are zoned as a campground. All these trailers have been here for 30 years and don't even have wheels anymore. They have no hurricane anchors either because that also is not required in a campground. So I guess, my question is, is there a way for me to regulate my power at 120 volts using the 90 to 105 volts that comes to my trailer?