Amusement Park Rides

Status
Not open for further replies.

WorkSafe

I recently attended the state fair and while waiting in line, saw a carnival ride employee sticking his hands inside what looked to be a local fabbed electrical panel, no PPE, nothing, and the ride was not shut off.

This electrical panel was slung over the Tilt-A-Whirls railing which contained the circuit breakers for the ride. Directely next to and below the circuit breakers are what looked to be the feeder cables for the ride. There was nothing isolating the breaker handles from the exposed wiring and lugs.

I mentioned to him that he probably should not be doing that, but I got the typical Carnie response of "who gives a F".

My question is:

1. Do amusement park rides, including the electrical equipment, have to meet a certain standard? I figure it's not a NEC thing...but some other requiment?

2. What type of voltages and amperages do these rides typically run off of?

iwire

Staff member
I have some background with amusement parks* and some of our rides were of the portable type.

Yes there are standards guarding of live parts etc.

As far as power most portable rides will be 208Y/120, larger stationary rides will often be 480 volt delta with their own transformers to make 120 as needed.

We had a 1970s style Tilt-A-Whirl and yes the factory panel was designed to hang on the railing of the ride near the operator.

It did however have a dead front, obviously someone decided that the dead front was a problem and got rid of it.

* A few unsafe work practices on display. http://www.youtube.com/user/Shockedbywater#p/a

cowboyjwc

Staff member
Here in CA we inspect the wiring from the generator to the power source for the rides.

The state inpectors and the insurance inspectors are responsible for the rides.

This includes fairs, carnivals, amusement parks, etc.

WorkSafe

Thanks for the answers thus far.