Lighting panel feeder sizing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rouse

I am studying for an exam that I have already taken. This may be a silly question but here goes. When you are asked to size a feeder conductor for a 225a panel used only for lighting with a total connected load of 90,000va, do you size it to the panel or the connected load? I don't remember the voltage or the type of building it is in.

jumper

I am studying for an exam that I have already taken. This may be a silly question but here goes. When you are asked to size a feeder conductor for a 225a panel used only for lighting with a total connected load of 90,000va, do you size it to the panel or the connected load? I don't remember the voltage or the type of building it is in.

You would size it per the connected load, unless speced otherwise.

I believe voltage is irrelevant.

Lighting loads are calculated per T220.42.

bob

You size the feeder for the load. If you assume the voltage is 120/208 volts
3 phase 90000 va = 250 amps. Lighting is usually considered a continuous load so you would need to multiply 250 x 1.25 = 313 amps. Going back to your origional question, you can size the conductor to match the ampacity of the panel if it is protected by a 225 amp breaker.

Smart $

Esteemed Member
You would size it per the connected load, unless speced otherwise.

I believe voltage is irrelevant.

Lighting loads are calculated per T220.42.

3 phase 90000 va = 250 amps. Lighting is usually considered a continuous load so you would need to multiply 250 x 1.25 = 313 amps. Going back to your origional question, you can size the conductor to match the ampacity of the panel if it is protected by a 225 amp breaker.