Lights flicker. A ghost?

Status
Not open for further replies.

aftershock

I have been doing this electrical work for 11 yrs now and it seems I am on the receiving end.

Our lights are flickering at random. Across different circuits and legs of the panel.
I upgraded our service and panel as well as rewire and add circuits over a year ago. All permited work. A month ago a squirrell got fried on top of our transformer which in turn kicked the jack that held the fuse. The jack was refused but the squirrel never removed. This may not be thbe problem but our problem with the lights flickering has been happening since.

We called the POCO. They came out, said the connections were loose in the meter can. Lights still flicker after they were tightened. They then said that the split bolts to tie the service in was the problem and replaced with their wedged clamps. Problem still happening.

I have checked the connections in the panel and found no problem. I checked the readings across the hot to neutral on one leg and when the lights did flicker it went from 123 to 118.

I cant see this problem to be on my end. It is too random to track. It is across multiple circuits. The POCO has yet to check the swing or the connections at the pole (where I have told them to check).

If that is not it then we have a ghost.

mxslick

What you have is a transformer that was damaged by the surge from the squirrel contact and will eventually fail completely.

See if any of your neighbors are connected to that transformer and if they are having problems too then there's your answer.

Jim W in Tampa

The last thing the POCO ever wants is a suggestion from us electricians that just might know more. Ask them to hook up one of there boxes to monitor the power at there meter and take readings for a few days.
You likely have the cure but still are a few possabilities that its on your end. Your main breaker could be arcing or making bad connection. Keep bugging them and they will fix it.