Transformer Sizing Help (3 phase)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike32186

Hey everyone,

This is my first time on Mike Holt's forum. I am looking for some help on transformer sizing. I am a little confused about how to handle kva for single phase loads when they are connected to a three phase system. We have 2- 5 ton units that are powered at 208V single phase. The current required to power each unit is about 37 amps. Since the unit is single phase do I calculate the KVA as the following:

37*208V/1000 = 7.7 KVA
2 units @ 7.7 KVA = 15.4 KVA = total connected load.

Will a 20 KVA transformer @ 3 phase be able to take care of this loads?
The maximum full load amps for a 20 KVA transformer is 55.5 amps. But the loads at single phase pull (37*2)= 74 amps, which is more than the 3 phase capacity of the 20 KVA. I am confusing myself thinking about it.

My question is will a 20 KVA be able to handle the load or do I need to calculate the single phase loads as 3 phase loads because they are connected to a 3 phase system? Or do I need to go up to 30 KVA system which is good for 83 amps @ 208/3 Phase.

Your help is greatly appreciated. Thanks guys.:)

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Hey everyone,

37*208V/1000 = 7.7 KVA
2 units @ 7.7 KVA = 15.4 KVA = total connected load.
So far so good.

Will a 20 KVA transformer @ 3 phase be able to take care of this loads?
The maximum full load amps for a 20 KVA transformer is 55.5 amps. But the loads at single phase pull (37*2)= 74 amps, which is more than the 3 phase capacity of the 20 KVA. I am confusing myself thinking about it.

The loads have to be treated as vectors. The currents flowing through the loads are going to be 120 degrees out of phase with each other. The net current flow into the common phase of the xfmr will end up being less than the current flow in either load.

iwire

Staff member
What do you suggest? How is it too out of balance? There are only two loads.:-?