Proper way to retorque a connection

Status
Not open for further replies.

fredelect

What is the best way to check an electrical connection for proper torque tightness? Should I just back it off and retorque or cut and redo?

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer
Good question, I'd be interested in hearing too. When I was an apprentice I was taught to back off and re-tighten. But later I was told to NEVER back off a bolt, just put on the torque wrench and if it clicks, you're done. I've never been comfortable with the inconsistency.

gar

Occupation
EE
110202-1531 EST

My comment is not an answer to your question.

1. Most materials have a static friction coefficient that is higher and different than the sliding friction coefficient.

2. When tightening screws, nuts, or bolts one really is not interested in the torque. What you really want to know is the tension in the fastener. But, in most cases there is no easy economical means to measure this tension. Thus, torque is used as an indirect method to measure tension. But this is dependent upon the coefficient of friction. The coefficient of friction can be highly variable, and therefore when torque is used to measure tension the accuracy of the measurement is dependent upon this variation.

3. On automotive axles the pinion nut was previously made with a cadmium plating. This coefficient was reasonably constant. Cadmium has been banned. The new coatings are not as consistent and thus in some cases torque limits have been widened. In other applications the tension variation will be greater.

4. If we assume that the tightening specification for torque is based upon a measurement while the fastener is in sliding friction, then just using a clicker type torque wrench, and not rotating the fastener before the click, will provide erroneous information.

I would favor using a dial type wrench and actually initiating slight rotation and use the reading just after breakaway.