120/240 single phase vrs 3 phase..

Status
Not open for further replies.

TNGuy81

Hey im not sure this is the correct place to ask this question but I didnt know where else to post it. Im still new to this trade and learning and just ran across something I cant wrap my head around. I have worked with 120/240 single phase, 120/208 3 phase, 277/480 3 phase but never a 3 phase 120/240v system.. I always thought 240v was single phase and I dont really understand how this works with 3 phase or why for that matter..? Also is this a common method still used or is it a older Delta system. I do appreciate any info on this.

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
The 3ph voltages you mentioned are Wye systems, in which one end of the secondaries connect together as the neutral, and the other ends of each secondary are the line conductors.

A Delta system has the three secondaries connected in a triangle, which provides the three lines. If a neutral is desired, it is derived by grounding the center tap of one of the secondaries.

In a 240v 4-wire system, the secondary with the center tap is exactly the same thing as your 1ph 120/240v service. The high-leg Delta began as a modification to existing 1ph services.

The triangle is made by the third line, the "high leg." As with any system, each conductor's voltage to ground depends on the difference between it and the one we choose to ground.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
delta_detail1.jpg

Drawing may help.
If you have not already noticed (and many of us learned this the hard way ;)) one phase will be 208v to neutral.

Rick Christopherson

Here is a drawing I put together a few years ago. It is not intended to be a transformer configuration, just voltage representations.

SystemTypes-lo.jpg

G._S._Ohm

For the last one,
120 at 0 degrees plus 208 at ? degrees = the upper left 240 at how many degrees?