Steel vs Aluminum RMC

Status
Not open for further replies.

mshields

I speced Rigid Galvanized conduit for an outdoor application. Contractor wants to substitute Aluminum RMC. Aside from the obvious metalurgical difference, what is the practical difference. I've never used it before nor been asked to make this substitute before?

Thanks,

Mike

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
Given the difference in weight is one consideration when bending and installing it especially with larger size conduits. Also it won't rust.

charlie k.

The downside is precautions should be taken where it is in contact with concrete or earth. We do a lot of Waste Water plants and use a lot of Aluminum conduit.

Charlie

G._S._Ohm

And,

"The conduit may be coated to prevent corrosion by incidental contact with concrete. The extra cost of aluminum is somewhat offset by the lower labor cost to install, since a length of aluminum conduit will have about one-third the weight of an equally-sized rigid steel conduit."

I couldn't readily find a direct comparison between both types that goes into any detail. Here's an overview of several types:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electrical_conduit
There's a footnote in this link that cites RS Means so you can closely estimate the difference in labor costs.

I'd think induction heating with aluminum conduit would be almost zero.

Last edited:

realolman

Aluminum is waaayyyy nicer to use. Shinier too. I'd say it might be a little harder to pull the wires.... but it's still a lot easier to install.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
I use a higher labor rate for aluminum than I do for steel. It is much harder to work with in terms of threading and bending in my opinion.

muskrat