Attic GFCI receptacle/protection

Status
Not open for further replies.

leveeleak

I don't have a copy of the 2011 NEC but my stamped plans for new residential construction call for two convenience outlets in the attic, both of which are to be protected on a GFCI circuit (preferably one GFCI outlet in the attic controlling both though the plans don't specify where the controlling GFCI needs to be).

My electrician is arguing with me over whether or not GFCI protection in the attic is needed regardless of the plan specifications. In my area of the country air handlers and electric water heaters are typically installed in attics and it would make sense for an attic outlet to be on a GFCI b/c tools used to service that equipment draw larger amounts of electricity (though I am no electrician mind you). In my opinion he should just follow the MEP plan but I would like to know if this is an NEC code issue just so I can have more ground to stand on. Being a female QC inspector has it's drawbacks, boys, and at times I need more ammo than you guys do hammer home a point.

Any advice gentlemen?

dana1028

I'll answer this 2 ways:
1. As an inspector - there is no code requirement [210.8] in the 2008 or 2011 for GFCI protection of receptacles in an attic.

2. As a contractor - typically the approved set of plans is the contract...i.e. as a contractor I bid per approved plans....doesn't matter if I like it or whether this GFCI receptacle is code required or not...it is plan required...this is what the designer/owner/architect wants....give him/her what they want.

leveeleak

I'll answer this 2 ways:
1. As an inspector - there is no code requirement [210.8] in the 2008 or 2011 for GFCI protection of receptacles in an attic.