Rookie question re: wattage of light fixtures

Status
Not open for further replies.

dcw6363

I'm new to the field and there's something I don't understand about wattage in multi-lamp fixtures (specifically tube fluorescent light fixtures). Well actually there's a lot I don't understand about electrictal systems in general, but let's start here.

I keep seeing charts that list specs of various fluorescent tube fixtures, T8 vs. T12 etc.

example: http://www1.eere.energy.gov/femp/pdfs/fluor_lamps.pdf (second page)

The chart will list a multi-lamp fixture and its input power, but the overall input power for the fixture is less than the power required if you added the power for the mutiple lamps. So in the chart on p. two of the link above, a "T8, 32 watts, electronic ballast, two lamp" fixture runs on 57 watts.

I would have thought a fixture w/ two 32-watt lamps would require 64 watts for those lamps (plus ballast power).

I guess the wattage required for input of the whole fixture doesn't just add the wattage of each component?

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
When dealing with fluorescents all you do is use the nameplate of the ballast, not the lamps. There is energy lost in the ballast and it has a power factor. The power factor for ballast can vary, so simply using the bulb wattage is no good. The higher the power factor the more energy the ballast saves.

dcw6363

When dealing with fluorescents all you do is use the nameplate of the ballast, not the lamps. There is energy lost in the ballast and it has a power factor. The power factor for ballast can vary, so simply using the bulb wattage is no good. The higher the power factor the more energy the ballast saves.

So if you know the power factor of the ballast, the wattage of the lamps, and the # of lamps per fixture, that's all you need to determine the input power for the fixture?

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)