Residential Generator

Status
Not open for further replies.

shaw0486

Hey guys,
I am a commercial contractor. However I am about to install a generator on my house. Tell me if this installation seems lagit to you all.

The generator is 10 KW with a 50amp breaker built into it.

I am installing a 100amp MCB ATS. Feeding it from a 50a breaker fromt he normal power panel and from the generator.
I am installing a 100a MLO panelboard. does anyone see any issues with this being MLO? Is there anything else that anyone out there come up against that maybe an issue?

ceb58

Hey guys,
I am a commercial contractor. However I am about to install a generator on my house. Tell me if this installation seems lagit to you all.

The generator is 10 KW with a 50amp breaker built into it.

I am installing a 100amp MCB ATS. Feeding it from a 50a breaker fromt he normal power panel and from the generator.
I am installing a 100a MLO panelboard. does anyone see any issues with this being MLO? Is there anything else that anyone out there come up against that maybe an issue?

What is the calculated load that will be on the gen.? You must follow 702.4 (B) 2 a or b (2011)
Automatic Transfer Equipment.​
Where automatictransfer equipment is used, an optional standby systemshall comply with (2)(a) or (2)(b).(a) Full Load. The standby source shall be capable ofsupplying the full load that is transferred by the automatictransfer equipment.(b) Load Management. Where a system is employed thatwill automatically manage the connected load, the standbysource shall have a capacity sufficient to supply the maximum
load that will be connected by the load management system.

shaw0486

just a 30 amp ac, the refrigerator, furnace ignitor and some minor lighting and receptacle loads. Furnace, range and water is NG.

tkb

It all sounds good. You will need to install a disconnect between the gen. and ATS per 225.31 & 32

There are people that consider the breaker on the generator to comply with this requirement.