4/0 Conductor Pulls (Help requested)

Status
Not open for further replies.

busman

Occupation
Master Electrician / Electrical Engineer
Most of our services around here are in SE cable so I have little experience pulling larger wires in conduit, but I've got one I need to do in conduit. The question is, what's the reasonableness of a 60' pull of three 4/0 compact aluminum conductors thru 2" Schedule 40 PVC with two gentle site bent 90's (about 18" radius each). Please rate as:

No sweat
Average
Difficult (but possible)
Crazy

Any tips other than lots of lube would also be appreciated. My other option is to put an LB half way thru, but 4/0 is just at the limit of what can be crammed into a 2" LB, so I'd probably have to go 2-1/2 for that.

Thanks in advance,

Mark

Fulthrotl

~Autocorrect is My Worst Enema.~
Most of our services around here are in SE cable so I have little experience pulling larger wires in conduit, but I've got one I need to do in conduit. The question is, what's the reasonableness of a 60' pull of three 4/0 compact aluminum conductors thru 2" Schedule 40 PVC with two gentle site bent 90's (about 18" radius each). Please rate as:

No sweat
Average
Difficult (but possible)
Crazy

Any tips other than lots of lube would also be appreciated. My other option is to put an LB half way thru, but 4/0 is just at the limit of what can be crammed into a 2" LB, so I'd probably have to go 2-1/2 for that.

Thanks in advance,

Mark

no sweat. leave the LB out of it.

if it gets hard at the end, and you have nothing to pull with, get
a comealong and pull with that... make up a cats paw on the rope
to hook the comealong and use that. it'll take a little while, but you
will get there.

and the truth is, if you use simpull, you don't even need lube.

http://www.southwire.com/ProductCatalog/XTEInterfaceServlet?contentKey=prodcatsheet351

use this stuff in aluminum.

Last edited:

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician