Refrigeration-heat cable

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am an electrician that works for a school district and also work on HVAC and refrigeration systems. I have walk-in freezers that have copper condensate drain lines that have heat cables wrapped around them and insulated to drain the water during the defrost cycle. When the heat cables have become defective, I have replaced them with new ones (Ray-Chem) that are marked "must be used with a GFCI" (like a typical roof top ice melt use). None of my freezers were installed with GFCI protection on these lines. I can't find a code reference that addresses this unique use of heating cable as to whether it needs to be GFCI or not. I asked my instructor at my last code update class if GFCI was necessary and he said he didn't think it was rerquired. Any thoughts?

iwire

Staff member
I am an electrician that works for a school district and also work on HVAC and refrigeration systems. I have walk-in freezers that have copper condensate drain lines that have heat cables wrapped around them and insulated to drain the water during the defrost cycle. When the heat cables have become defective, I have replaced them with new ones (Ray-Chem) that are marked "must be used with a GFCI" (like a typical roof top ice melt use). None of my freezers were installed with GFCI protection on these lines. I can't find a code reference that addresses this unique use of heating cable as to whether it needs to be GFCI or not. I asked my instructor at my last code update class if GFCI was necessary and he said he didn't think it was rerquired. Any thoughts?

110.3(B) requires we instal listed equipment per the labeling and instructions.

kwired

Electron manager
They usually don't require class A GFCI protection but do want class B (equipment protection or EPD) which is allowed to trip at 30, 50 or even 100 milliamps of fault current instead of the 4-6 milliamps required by class A devices.

iwire

Staff member