First year apprentice

Status
Not open for further replies.
As a first year apprentice, I would like to know what is out there for me to be studying while not a work. I have not had any schooling yet and will start in September. So far all I have been doing for the last three months in pulling home runs. Thats all fine but I want to start understanding more about 2nd circuits, three way swiching, dead end swiches and more. I really enjoy the work thus far but want to know more. Any advise would be much appreciated.

Thank you

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
I would look at the mikeholt.com site and check out his books but I would also get a free subscription to EC&M magazine . ​If you don't mind reading it online they are available there also

masterinbama

Don't be afraid to ask questions at work and here. The fact that you want to learn in and of itself is a big plus. Absorb as much information as you possibly can.

As my mentor in the trade so many many years ago said.

"Show me a man that didn't learn something today, I'll show you a man that didn't pay attention."

Hv&Lv

Occupation
Engineer/Technician
"Show me a man that didn't learn something today, I'll show you a man that didn't pay attention."
Two thumbs up!
:thumbsup::thumbsup:

First year apprentice, It would not be a bad idea to actually read the NEC. I know it isn't as thrilling as some books, but it is interesting.

John120/240

Two thumbs up!
:thumbsup::thumbsup:

First year apprentice, It would not be a bad idea to actually read the NEC. I know it isn't as thrilling as some books, but it is interesting.

Well said. Hands on work experience and reading the NEC will ignite your interest. So that

is why we do this task this way & not that way.

sameguy

Occupation
Master Elec./JW retired
Every day try to look up in the code book what you will be doing the next day or what you did that day.

K8MHZ

Michigan. It's a beautiful peninsula, I've looked
Occupation