Problem with local inspeactor

Status
Not open for further replies.

tsamples

As an inspector I prefer to inspect without someone trying to distract me, but if the installer is present most write-ups can be eliminated. In Oregon as well, as Augie47 stated, it is illegal for a homeowner to pull a permit and have someone else do the work. Many times we can tell that this is the case and will not make it easy on the installer for working without a permit.

Personally I will always mark on the stud with an 'NP' where a nailplate is required and an 'x' if a staple is required, but if I find more than 5 violations I stop marking them. In that case it is better for the installer to go back and check all of his work, I am not a babysitter.

The best solution is to have a friendly relationship with your inspector. I always appreciate the electricians who admit their fault and don't try to accuse me of being an AH.

kwired

Electron manager
I don't know where people get the mind set that inspectors like to write correction notices. Which do you think makes my day go easier, signing the job card or going out and sitting in the hot truck looking up code sections and listening to the contractor tell you that 1) you're the only one calling that 2) they just let me do this in ______ 3) can you come back later today? 4) can you just sign the card and I'll do this before I leave.

In answer to a direct question, no I do not always write code sections. If you used cable and I write "NMC cable is not secured per it's NEC requirements", I'm pretty sure that you should know what that means. Now yes it could be by the box or in the attic, but I took the time to find it now it's your turn.