Why four wire instaed of three for range and dryer?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was asked this last week by a homeowner. I had never really had to explain the why's of it, it's just code and as a licensed electrician, I am to follow code. So, it made me wonder as to why it was actually changed back in 96 (I think ...).

Now, I understand why you don't bond ground and neutral together for a sub panel. I also understand the reasoning you don't want them bonded other places, as upstream you could break the neutral path and it goes through the ground instead. Although, on a dedicated, single run, I really couldn't explain for certain why it was changed. Other than not allowing any current to flow along the bare ground when either the dryer or range might use the 120 stuff. When else might it cause an issue? Especially since most every new unit comes from the factory with the ground strap bonded and many times it doesn't get removed.

Homeowner pointed out, as we all know, "his old one was three wire .."; I had to concede that there are probably several upon several thousands of circuits still in existence using three wire with no problems. However, code is code ...

Just curious as to others thoughts.

iwire

Staff member
With the old three wire set up on ranges and dryers if the neutral failed the entire metal structure of the appliance would be 'hot' to anything grounded.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
iwire points out the danger.

I don't know if it's an 'ole wives tale' or not, but I've often heard from old-timers (back before I became one of them) that the 3 wire install was instituted as a copper savings during a war effort.
I don't have any references to show if allowing 3 wire was ever a "change" or if it was acceptable until changed in the 90s (or whenever).