Corrosion in/on Pullboxes, Hubs, Conduit, etc.

Status
Not open for further replies.

erickench

Hi everybody, I just completed an inspection of about 50 pull boxes located in the conduit system above the lower roadway of a very high bridge. I took photos and wrote checklists of the whole facility. I found that alot of the pullboxes, hubs, and some conduit threads/ends are corroded. Some of the gaskets were deteriorating and alot of screws were corroded and stripped so that the pullbox could not be opened. What I need is a step by step procedure on how to refurbish this equipment. I'm an engineer, not an electrician. Does anyone have any ideas? Perhaps a link to a website? Would appreciate it.:D

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
From your description, I think you are beyond refurbishment. I would be looking at replacement with either PVC coated rigid, or stainless, or with standard rigid with plans to replace every 10-15 years.

erickench

This conduit system was installed five years ago. The conduit itself is in pretty good shape. The idea that we have is to perhaps refurbish the pullboxes.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Does it matter any?

It is probably not really fixable. Maybe cover the pull boxes with some kind of tar like substance to stop any further deterioration.

You can't really fix it. It is a gut it and start over kind of thing.

erickench

Does it matter any?

It is probably not really fixable. Maybe cover the pull boxes with some kind of tar like substance to stop any further deterioration.

You can't really fix it. It is a gut it and start over kind of thing.