Code regarding flood stopper solenoid valve tied on to light switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

h1h2h3

Hi All,

I'm an in house electrician for a commercial real estate company. Recently we had a major flood due in part to the fact that the receptacle for the flood stopper solenoids class 2 transformer was tied into and controlled by the kitchen light switch. The tenant is trying to hold us responsible for the flood. I believe this is ridiculous since their office build out was done by an outside electrical contractor who should have known better then to connect a flood stopper, which requires constant power to the lv transformer in order to function effectively. However, the tenant wants specific code articles to prove it was an error on their contractors part. Needless to say I'm having a hard time doing so. So far I've come up with 110.12 (neat and workman like manner), 110.3 (A+B), and that's about it. I am interested to see if there is anything in the code that would expressly prohibit this. I wish their was a code article siting that all dumb installations and gross acts of negligence shall be prohibited. I understand that per 90.1 (a, b, and c) the code does not guarantee an installation that makes sense. I was wondering if you guys could please list any articles that you know of that would make this installation a code violation.

Thank you all for your time and consideration.

david

Hi All,