Is running a neutral "through" a 3P disconnect switch legal?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Enlightened

I'm a facilities engineer. I have the following scenario: 480V / 208Y/120V transformer feeds a fused 3P disconnect, which then feeds an MLO panelboard. My electrican wants to run the neutral "through" the disconnect to the panelboard since we don't have a 4P disconnect. I looked extensively through the posts and in the NEC, and I haven't found anything that implies this is illegal. Can this be done as my electrician is proposing?

qcroanoke

Sometimes I don't know if I'm the boxer or the bag
Occupation
Sorta retired........
I'm a facilities engineer. I have the following scenario: 480V / 208Y/120V transformer feeds a fused 3P disconnect, which then feeds an MLO panelboard. My electrican wants to run the neutral "through" the disconnect to the panelboard since we don't have a 4P disconnect. I looked extensively through the posts and in the NEC, and I haven't found anything that implies this is illegal. Can this be done as my electrician is proposing?

You don't really need a 4 pole disconnect unless you want to switch the neutral too. You probably should have a neutral bar in the disconnect for bonding purposes unless you did all of that in the xfmr.
Pulling the neutral through the disconnect is probably ok as long as all bonding and grounding was done in the xfmr. But I would look to see if a neutral bar is available for the disconnect and install it.

Enlightened

You don't really need a 4 pole disconnect unless you want to switch the neutral too. You probably should have a neutral bar in the disconnect for bonding purposes unless you did all of that in the xfmr.
Pulling the neutral through the disconnect is probably ok as long as all bonding and grounding was done in the xfmr. But I would look to see if a neutral bar is available for the disconnect and install it.