0-10 volt dimming

Status
Not open for further replies.

FichterBros

I have no experience with 0-10 volt dimming for LED and fluorescent fixtures. I am working on a project in which I mounted GE Albeo 190 watt LED high bay fixtures. The customer now wants to be able to dim the fixtures. These fixtures allow for 0-10 volt dimming but my question is this. What is the most cost effective way to run the control wiring? It is a 45 ft ceiling (rock climbing gym) and I have piping from the switch up to the bar joists. From there I planned on running everything in cable. I have done some research and have come with two choices: all class 2 wiring with low voltage controllers which would involve running a separate conduit 200ft with many bends from controller up to the ceiling and class 2 cable on the ceiling. Or use a line voltage controller with the dimmer built in such as the cooper devine or skye dimmers which I would be forced to use all class 1 wiring. If I go with option 2 then I could use same conduit and possibly 12/4 mc on the ceiling or a luminary cable that is UL listed with 12/2 mc and 16/2 twisted pair in the same jacket (essentially class 1 and class 2 in same cable). The problem with the luminary cable is that it has class 2 wiring for the control circuit and would mean I am not using all class 1 wiring. Thus, where is this luminary cable designed to be terminated? it would force class 1 and class 2 wiring in the same box without possibility of being divided. Also, with sharing the conduit as line voltage and using 12/4, would that create interference on the control wires with induced voltages? There would be two dimmers for nine fixtures. I appreciate any advice and imput. Thanks

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
I think it depends on the dimmer used and the driver in the light. I have a similar situation and can't get any help from manufacturer so I ran a 12/4 and a class 2 2 wire cable

gar

Occupation
EE
150214-1542 EST